Incorporating ICTs into HPE

Coming into this course as a HPE student I may have under estimated the importance of embedding ICTs into a lesson and also quite concerned with my ability to be able to incorporate ICTs into my lessons. After researching a little online and discussing this idea with my fellow HPE students I have begun to see the importance of ICTs in HPE and noticed how easy it is to embed them into a lesson.

One important note I have taken from my research is that ICTs in the HPE classroom should not replace the role of the teacher but be there to supplement their teaching style. For example after explicitly teaching the drop punt in AFL, using YouTube clips to 1st Grade player kicking to reinforce the concept. A link to the full article can be found here.

As for the simplicity of embedding ICTs in HPE fellow educator and edc3100 student Schon Hansen provides a link in his blog to a number of easy ways to do so that t I found interesting.

Leave a comment